The Rev Dr Gavin Ashenden said in a letter to the Times that a survey which found that one in four self-proclaimed Christians do not believe in Jesus’s Resurrection “made the mistake of confusing British culture with Christianity”.
He said: “Those people who neither believe in the Resurrection nor go anywhere near a church cannot be ‘Christians’.
“As with so many things, the key is in the definition of terms. Discovering the evidence for the Resurrection having taken place to be wholly compelling is one of the things that makes you a Christian; ergo, if you haven’t, you are not.”
The link also has some basic information on the origins of non-Christian Easter traditions.
In a different but related vein – whilst TESCO were telling people that “Good Friday just got better” because of special deals on alcohol – Sainsbury’s and ASDA it appears wouldn’t stock the Fairtrade “Real” Easter eggs
Meanwhile the media are making much of the same supermarkets stocking HALAL ones. What you may ask is a HALAL Easter Egg? Why would Moslems want to indulge in a “Christian” festival. The simple truth is of course that chocolate is chocolate is chocolate and kids of any religion love it. However this is hardly some religious statement on the part of Cadbury, since they apparently only make HALAL chocolate anyway. Was pig fat ever used in chocolate?